Day 21 – May 12

Messenger Flat 430.4 to Acton KOA 444.4 (14 miles)

Today was actually really great. Pretty eventful! Tots, Brightside and I have been in and out of a group of hikers including Strider, Stitches and Nick. They’re pretty fun! Camped with them a few times now.

After about 6 miles of hiking, there was a ranger station with soda and candy bars… Of course everyone stopped in! I refilled my water and tried to mentally prepare myself for the wild 8 miles ahead of us. It was already almost 90ยฐ by about 10am. In the desert with no shade. Luckily I have my sun umbrella, but man I was cooking. Hottest day yet I’d say. Stitches actually got dehydrated and was close to getting heat stroke! It was a struggle.

We arrived at the KOA (Kampgrounds of America) in Acton right before 1 O’clock. After 15 miles in the heat, and a late start, that’s some pretty good time. No one was really taking breaks considering that there was no shade.

Right when I got here, Tots and I took showers. There’s a pool, and they make hikers shower beforehand. For some reason after my shower I didn’t want to swim anymore! But we did laundry and later on hitched a ride into town. A man who barely spoke English picked us up and drove 80 mph into town. I am alive. We went to the grocery store and I immediately ran to the produce and basically bought one of every kind of fruit. And chugged a bottle of coconut water. Then I bought Chinese food. From an “Italian, Chinese, Mexican , American Bistro”. What??? Pretty tasty actually. The boys got two pizzas delivered and bought a bunch of beer of course! As we sat and chatted at our table, a couple of hikers were in a one man tent with no cover on it (in broad daylight right next to us) gettin’ it on… Of course I pitched MY tent next to theirs tonight. Regrets.
I am sleeping with about 50 bugs tonight because I left my tent open all day! Besides that, it’s actually super nice out. First night I am sleeping without my thermal layers on. Plus I hear crickets and frogs, so lovely!

Tomorrow will be a hot and fun uphill stretch into Agua Dulce, but I get to resupply and have another easy day.
My arms are getting so tan… Extreme farmer tan going on though. PS menstruation on the trail is not fun at all!!!

Leave a Reply

